Dieser Testbericht ist auf Englisch verfasst.
Greenies Review 2026: Do the Dental Chews Work Safely?
Greenies review 2026: what the clinical claims and VOHC seal mean, sizes and calories, the 2006 recall and current complaints, price per treat and alternatives.
Von Simple Life Reviews · Aktualisiert
Dieser Testbericht wurde mit KI-Unterstützung auf Grundlage öffentlich verfügbarer Tests und Erfahrungsberichte von Nutzern recherchiert und verfasst und anschließend automatisierten Fakten- und Quellenprüfungen sowie einer redaktionellen Durchsicht unterzogen. Wir haben das Produkt nicht selbst getestet. So bewerten wir
Einige Links in diesem Testbericht sind Affiliate-Links. Wenn Sie über diese Links kaufen, erhalten wir möglicherweise eine Provision, ohne dass Ihnen Mehrkosten entstehen.
Unsere Bewertung
The dental evidence and VOHC acceptance are the strongest of any chew. The calorie load, the price premium and continuing safety complaints keep it from a higher score.
Bewertungen nach Produkt
- Greenies Original Regular
- Greenies Teenie
Greenies are the green, toothbrush-shaped chews in every pet aisle, the dental treat most vets name first and the one with the most argued-over safety history. This Greenies review pulls together the clinical claims, the sizing and calorie maths, the 2006 recall story, the complaint pages and what owners say on Reddit, so you can decide whether the chews belong in your dog's daily routine, which size to buy, and when a cheaper or safer alternative makes more sense.
Greenies review verdict: they work, and they are safe when you size and supervise them
Greenies Original dental chews are worth buying for most healthy adult dogs: they carry the Veterinary Oral Health Council's dual seal for plaque and tartar, the brand's clinical data shows a large reduction in buildup after a month of daily use, and dogs like them. They are the wrong choice for dogs that gulp rather than chew, for very small or very young dogs outside the sized ranges, for dogs with wheat sensitivities and for owners who will not track the extra calories. Nothing here replaces brushing or a professional cleaning.

What Greenies are and how they work
Greenies are made by Mars Petcare and sold as a once-a-day dental chew rather than a snack, as Pet Dog Expert explains: the grooves and the bendable, highly soluble texture let a dog's teeth sink in and scrape plaque and food debris from the gumline as it works through the treat, something a crunchy biscuit swallowed in seconds never does. The base is wheat flour with glycerin, wheat gluten, gelatin and oat fibre, with added vitamins and minerals and no artificial colours or preservatives in the standard formula, and protein is unusually high for a treat at around 30%, per Bestie Paws. The brand's own site keeps the claim simple: cleaner teeth after 28 days when fed daily, with the data on file, per Greenies.
The reviewers put numbers on that claim. Fed once daily, the chews are clinically shown to support 47% less tartar and 40% less plaque over 28 days, and the VOHC accepted them for both plaque and tartar reduction, the most complete dental credential a chew can hold, per Pet Dog Expert. Bestie Paws' comparison adds a caveat: the figures reflect a dog chewing the full treat at the right size, and independent evidence it cites puts typical real-world reduction at 20 to 30%, still ahead of Minties and Dentastix, per Bestie Paws.
The Greenies line-up and sizes
| Product | For | Calories and price | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Greenies Original Regular | Dogs 25 to 50 lb | About 91 calories, 50 to 70 cents per treat (Bestie Paws) | Dual VOHC seal; the chew most vets reach for |
| Greenies Teenie | Dogs 5 to 15 lb | About 56 calories for the Petite step up (Bestie Paws) | Same recipe in a small shape; Petite covers 15 to 25 lb |
| Greenies Large | Dogs 50 to 100 lb | About 147 calories (Bestie Paws) | Jumbo above it for giant breeds |
| Puppy Greenies | Dogs 5 to 25 lb under 12 months | not stated | Softer formula; standard chews are not for dogs under 6 months or 5 lb (Bestie Paws) |
| Greenies Pill Pockets | Dogs and cats that refuse pills | not stated | Mouldable treats that hide medication; an Amazon best-seller in the US |
| Feline Greenies | Cats | not stated | Dental treats and Smartbites; several complaints on ConsumerAffairs concern cats |
Sizing is the single most important choice, and every source says the same thing: match the size to your dog's weight and round down at a boundary, because a chew that is too small is easy to gulp and one that is too large forces oversized bites, per Bestie Paws. The line also includes Fresh, Blueberry, Pumpkin Spice and seasonal flavours plus Weight Management, Grain-Free and senior formulas, per Pet Dog Expert.

Calories: the part owners forget
A Greenie is real food. Bestie Paws works the maths: a Regular at 91 calories is about 13% of a 30-pound dog's roughly 700-calorie day, already over the 10% guideline that vets apply to all treats combined, and for a 10-pound dog on a 300-calorie budget even a Petite at 56 calories is nearly 19%, per Bestie Paws. Pet Dog Expert reaches the same conclusion from a Regular at around 90 calories and recommends the Lite formula or a smaller size for dogs watching their weight. Reddit owners make the same point in plainer words: the chews add calories, and heavy chewers finish them too fast to clean anything, per one r/dogs commenter. One treat a day is the rule whichever size you choose.
Are Greenies safe? The history and the complaints
This is the question behind most searches, and the honest answer is conditional. Bestie Paws lays out the record: in 2006 the FDA investigated 35 adverse events including 13 reported dog deaths from gastrointestinal obstruction linked to the original formula, Mars Petcare acquired the brand and reformulated it so that today's chew dissolves into a soft paste far faster in digestion, and a later lawsuit was settled with commitments to safety transparency, per Bestie Paws. Pet Dog Expert agrees that the digestibility problem belonged to the pre-2006 formula, that the packaging now carries size guides and a supervision reminder, and that aggressive chewers can still crack a tooth while flat-faced and toy breeds remain at higher risk of gulping.
The complaints have not stopped. ConsumerAffairs, the top result for the brand, shows a rating of 1.4 from 303 reviews with 86% of them one star, and its recent entries describe facial swelling in a terrier, a dog that died after a chunk lodged in its intestine, cats vomiting within minutes of eating the dental treats and a cat constipated after following the bag's feeding guidance, per ConsumerAffairs. Complaint sites skew negative by design, and the same product carries a 4.8-star rating from more than 66,000 Amazon ratings for the 36-count Original pack, per iHeartDogs, but the pattern matters: digestive upset in sensitive animals, obstruction in gulpers and wrong-size feeding account for most of the serious reports. Supervise the first few chews, pick the smaller size when in doubt, and stop if your dog vomits or strains.
Price and value
Greenies cost more than supermarket dental sticks. Bestie Paws puts the Original at roughly 50 to 70 cents per treat against 40 to 55 cents for Minties and 30 to 40 cents for Dentastix, an annual difference of about $75 to $130 for a dog given one treat a day, with warehouse-club bulk packs of 40 to 80 chews bringing every brand's price down, per Bestie Paws. The brand's expansion into kibble follows the same pattern: Dog Food Guides describes Greenies dog food as gentle, moderate-protein everyday nutrition that is easy to digest but priced higher than its protein level justifies, per Dog Food Guides. For the chews, the premium buys the clinical evidence and the VOHC seal; whether that is worth it depends on how seriously your vet rates your dog's dental risk.

Alternatives worth a look
| Alternative | Why consider it | Trade-off |
|---|---|---|
| Pedigree Dentastix | Cheapest and most widely sold, X-shape scrapes plaque | Not VOHC accepted; starch-heavy recipe, per Pet Dog Expert and Bestie Paws |
| Minties | Best for breath thanks to a five-herb formula, wheat-free, mid-price | Now contains artificial dyes, per Bestie Paws |
| Virbac C.E.T. VeggieDent | VOHC accepted, plant-based and grain-free, vet-clinic favourite | Costs more than Greenies, per Pet Dog Expert |
| Daily brushing | The gold standard the AVMA still recommends | Takes time and training; chews are a supplement, not a substitute |
Who should buy Greenies, and who should skip them
Buy Greenies if you have a healthy adult dog between the Teenie and Jumbo weight ranges who chews rather than gulps, you can give one correctly sized treat a day and count its calories, and you want a dental chew with clinical and VOHC backing. Choose Puppy Greenies for dogs under a year in the 5 to 25 lb range.
Skip them, or talk to your vet first, if your dog is under 6 months or 5 lb, swallows treats whole, has a wheat allergy or a sensitive stomach, is on a strict calorie budget, or has a history of obstruction. For cats, read the current reviews of the Feline line carefully and start with a few treats rather than the full bag guidance. If price is the deciding factor, Dentastix freshens breath for less; if breath is the problem, Minties does it better.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Clinically supported plaque and tartar reduction and the VOHC's dual seal
- Highly soluble reformulated chew that dissolves far faster than the pre-2006 original
- Sizes for every dog from Teenie to Jumbo, plus puppy, lite, grain-free and senior formulas
- Dogs like the taste, and the Original multipack earns strong store ratings
- Made in US facilities with no artificial colours or preservatives in the standard chew
Cons
- The most serious safety history in the dental-chew category, with complaints that continue
- Real obstruction and choking risk for gulpers, small dogs and wrong-size feeding
- High calories for a treat, easily over the usual treat guideline on small dogs
- Costs more per treat than Dentastix or Minties
- Wheat-based, so unsuitable for dogs with wheat sensitivities
Our ratings
Overall: 4/5. Overall, Greenies earns a four because the dental evidence and VOHC acceptance documented by Pet Dog Expert and Bestie Paws are the strongest of any chew, while the calorie load, the price premium and the continuing safety complaints on ConsumerAffairs keep it from a higher score.
| Product | Our rating |
|---|---|
| Greenies Original Regular | 4/5 |
| Greenies Teenie | 4/5 |
Greenies Original Regular gets 4/5: the clinical reduction figures and dual VOHC seal reported by Pet Dog Expert are unmatched, but the 91-calorie load and the gulping risk mean it needs an attentive owner.
Greenies Teenie gets 4/5: the same recipe sized for small dogs, which Bestie Paws identifies as the group most at risk from wrong-size feeding, so the correct size and supervision matter even more here.
FAQ
Are Greenies safe for dogs?
For most healthy adult dogs, yes, when the size matches the dog's weight and the dog chews rather than gulps. The chew was reformulated after the 2006 FDA investigation to dissolve quickly, but obstruction and digestive complaints still appear, so supervise and round down on size.
Do Greenies actually work?
Yes. The brand's clinical data, cited by Pet Dog Expert, shows about 47% less tartar and 40% less plaque after 28 days of daily use, and the VOHC accepts them for both. They work best alongside brushing, not instead of it.
How often should I give my dog Greenies?
One correctly sized treat a day is the maximum every source recommends. More adds calories without adding dental benefit.
Do vets recommend Greenies?
Pet Dog Expert calls them the dental treat most vets reach for, and they are one of the few chews with VOHC acceptance. Vets also stress that the right size and supervised chewing are what make them safe.
Can Greenies cause diarrhoea?
They can in sensitive dogs, and ConsumerAffairs reviews include vomiting and loose stools after a first serving. Introduce them one at a time and stop if your dog reacts.
Are Greenies safe for puppies?
Standard Greenies are not for dogs under 6 months or under 5 pounds, per Bestie Paws. Puppy Greenies, a softer formula for dogs between 5 and 25 pounds in their first year, are the right choice for young dogs.
Do Greenies help with bad breath?
They freshen breath as a side effect of removing plaque, but Bestie Paws finds Minties, with their herb formula, better for breath specifically. For bad breath that persists, ask a vet to check for dental disease.